Monday Madness

Posted on

So, the thing that drives me crazy today… My commute, I kind of dislike (maybe dislike is not strong enough of a word, but hate is too strong) that I have to leave my house 1.5 hours before I have to be at work. I know lots of people commute and maybe some of them enjoy it, but it isn’t my preference. I think it would make a significant difference if I were driving to a job that I loved, but I’m not. I don’t hate my job, but I don’t love it either. I think I would like my job more if I didn’t have to drive so long or far to get there.

20130812_063733

Mileage and fuel level before my commute.

Mileage and fuel level after commute to work.

I feel like I’m going to be missing out on a lot because of it. Sleep being one of the big ones. If I want to run in the morning I have to wake up at 4:30am to get out the door and have any kind of time to get a jog in. Otherwise I’m up at 5:45 to be at work at 8:00. Then I work my 8.5 hours and drive back home just in time to make dinner. While it isn’t an issue right now, I see it becoming a problem once school starts and any extra things the boy gets involved in. I either have to leave work early to make parent meetings or soccer games or ice cream socials or I have to miss out on those things. It’s going to be a tough decision for me. I’ve always been there for my son, for everything (being a military family, we have experienced several deployments) so it will be a big difference. I’ve already missed those little events at daycare, which weren’t that big of a deal, but I want my son to know that I will be there for him.

What drives you mad this Monday?

Leave a Reply

