Galen New Year’s Resolution 5k Review

Posted on

First race of the year in the bag. The Galen Resolution 5k in Palm Desert yesterday. I signed up on a whim because the sponsors are friends of my work and I wanted to get the year off to a quick start. It was a really good fitness check. I have a ways to go… I think this cold I have in my chest didn’t help, neither did the side stitch I got about a half mile in that wouldn’t go away.

This race was the second year for the race, and I was really surprised at how well it was run. Registration took place online, at bib pick up or on site. I like that they gave people so many options. They also allowed strollers and dogs, which was also nice for a local race.

They had two options for places to pick up bibs, on two separate ends of town, which I liked. It was very convenient, but because they had two places, bibs weren’t ready and you had to wait to have it assigned to you for timing. It wasn’t an issue for me since there wasn’t a line when i got there, but I imagine it would have been an issue if there were a line of people. I do appreciate that they had men and women cut of shirts too.

The race area was nice. They had several businesses that donated things for runners and dogs. There was a live band and an area set aside with a fitness instructor for stretching. The start/finish line was a balloon arch, making it easy to find. The course was pretty well marked and they traffic control was excellent. They even handed out medals at the finish, for a 5k!

Since I haven’t really ran since the half in October, I can’t be too upset with my time. I ended up being at 39:23.

Coming up I’m already registered for a half in May and a full marathon in October. Hopefully in the next few weeks, Coach and I can sit down to map out a training strategy for this year. I have 3 goals: 1) Get my 5k to 30 minutes or less, 2) Run a faster half marathon and 3) Finish a full marathon. I think they are doable as long as I commit to training better than I did last year.

2014 will be my year!

One response »

  1. Good going on the 5K. I just finished a 5K resolution run today myself.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

