Progression Run

Posted on

Today’s training was supposed to be a progression run. On the schedule was 15 minutes at 12:30 pace, 15 minutes at 12:00 pace and finally 15 minutes at 11:30 pace. It’s a great workout for me because I always finish slower than I start out, ALWAYS. I can’t say I’ve ever had a negative miles splits in anything…

My alarm woke me up at 4:45, snooze once, out of bed at 4:50 to decide if I’m running outside or on the treadmill. When I let the dog out, it didn’t seem too cold, so outside I went. The back of my heel seems to be doing okay (weird rubbing issue on my left heel from the new, speed work shoes), so I put on my Nike Lunar-somethings and took off out the door.

wpid-20140129_054802.jpg

Looking at my watch, the pace display kept jumping around and being very erratic. One second I was at an 8:55 pace then it would jump to 14 minute. It wasn’t finding my pace fast enough so I just went with a comfortably easy pace, thinking that would be close to the 12:30 I was supposed to start out at. I’m not gonna lie, it felt pretty good. I didn’t look down at my watch because I didn’t want to know how far off I was because I was just cruising. I could feel my stride engaging my butt (which doesn’t usually happen) and my legs and lungs were finally in tune.

My watch vibrates at 1 mile and I look down at the time 11:40ish. Damn. That was too fast. I convince myself that it is okay because as long as I run each split faster than the last, it will still be a progression run. Well, not so much. I speed up a tiny bit after hitting 15 minutes and about 5 minutes into my next segment the cramps start. Just a small side stitch, so I try reasoning with it. I acknowledged it was there and then tried to accept and move on. That seemed to have worked for another 5 minutes or so. I had to stop and walk a few times, trying to get it to release, but by time I hit my third segment of the progression, there wasn’t going to be any going faster!

I ended up being just over 41 minutes and 3.25 miles.

wpid-20140129_054743.jpg

Although I didn’t quite get the progression run like Coach planned for me, I call this one a success for two reasons. First, I ran nearly two miles before I had to stop and walk. That’s a big deal for me! Second, I didn’t have any moments of hatred toward running this morning. So, while the actual workout didn’t go as planned, I think the run went better than expected.

Leave a Reply

